My Identity Isn’t in my Hair. 

For years now I have believed the lie that my identity and self-worth lie within my hair and approval from others.

One never thinks about the words they say to others (guilty) and as a result, those words can really stick with you and become weeds that are rooted in your heart. Soon enough, you start to believe those lies because you have been conditioned to those nasty words and expectations.

On Tuesday, God spoke so clearly to me that I made a hair appointment.

“I love you no matter the length. I will always value you more than others. You are mine, not this world’s.” Wow, okay Jesus. Thank you for showing up and speaking truth where I didn’t know a lie had taken root.

My identity isn’t found in the clothes I wear, how “cool” I think my Insta posts are, the adventures I take, my non-existent relationship status (or if I had one) and/or my hair length.

My identity is given to me by my King that laid down his life for me 2,000 years ago today. Well sorta today, happy Good Friday everybody!

Jesus walked a long path to Calvary. A path that was destined for death, pain, suffering, and mocking. The enemy will attack you and I with these things through words of others, but remember Jesus rose again on the 3rd day. He has victory and through Him, so do we.

Today, I rejoice in the cross and His victory. “For God made Christ, who never sinned, to be the offering for our sin, so that we could be made right with God through Christ.” 1 Corinthians 5:21

Since Jesus laid down his life for me, I have found mine in Him, and in Him alone.

So what has changed? Well I can tell you that God hasn’t, and that’s why I find my identity in Him. His love, grace, wisdom, calling, and promises are ALWAYS constant and unwavering. Our world has different trends everyday, example: long hair vs. short hair. But Jesus, that man is forever.

Condition your heart to truly know Christ’s love for you. To know the value He sees in you. The more you condition your thoughts and beliefs in God’s word and truth, the more you will recognize the lies of the enemy and this world.

You were worth God’s only son. Oh, that scandal of grace. How sweet is it to know that you are valued enough that God went bankrupt to have a relationship with you.

Since this change, (it’s only been 2 days) I have experienced so much freedom and love. Freedom because I have conditioned my heart to see God’s value in me while not caring about other’s opinions on my hair length and love from friends and family.

THANK YOU SWEET SWEET SAVIOR.

Before :


After:

Leave a Reply

