Perspectives for “Christians”

Meghan Natasha Miskin

1993-2016.

That’s what my headstone would read if I were to die today. Maybe my parents would put Loving Daughter and Sister and then some bible verse that talks about being in Heaven. But what I do know, is that I will have two dates and one dash line. A line that represents my entire 22 years and 303 days of life.

A couple days ago another death happened due to police. Three days before that my friends witnessed a drunk driver at 6:00pm hit a motorcylist and kill him. Death is real. Death is all around us and it can be scary.

Now, let me back up…

Two nights ago, friends and I went to the Lubbock City Cemetery and no we were not being weird. The friends I was with are also known as my team, my family and my church. I do life with these people everyday and just yesterday our team leader wanted to take us on a field trip. Where to? The Lubbock City Cemetery. I was expecting some weird ritual or something extreme. But instead I got the opposite.

He told us to go out with a partner and just observe the headstones. Look at these peoples names, what can you tell about them? Can you see what their job was? Were they rich or poor? Were they a Tech fan or Texas? Do these things really matter? Can you tell the life this person lived just by their headstone?

  • Ecclesiastes 1 & 2. All is Vanity

1: 8″All things are full of weariness; a man cannot utter it; the eye is not satisfied with seeing, nor the ear filled with hearing. 9What has been is what will be, and what has been done is what will be done, and there is nothing new under the sun. 11 There is no remembrance of former things, nor will there be any remembrance of later things yet to be among those who come after.”

If you decided to bypass reading the two chapters here’s a quick summary: All is Vanity. The Vanity of Wisdom, the Vanity of Self-Indulgence, the Vanity of Living Wisely, and The Vanity of Toil. Why do these things matter? Does our money, house, name brand purses, or even iPhone matter once we have died and no longer here? None of it matters. None.

  • Ezekiel 37

37 “The hand of the Lord was upon me, and he brought me out in the Spirit of the Lord and set me down in the middle of the valley;  it was full of bones. And he led me around among them, and behold, there were very many on the surface of the valley, and behold, they were very dry. And he said to me, “Son of man, can these bones live?” And I answered, “O Lord God, you know.” Then he said to me, “Prophesy over these bones, and say to them, O dry bones, hear the word of the Lord. Thus says the Lord God to these bones: Behold, I will cause breath to enter you, and you shall live. And I will lay sinews upon you, and will cause flesh to come upon you, and cover you with skin, and put breath in you, and you shall live, and you shall know that I am the Lord.”

So I prophesied as I was commanded. And as I prophesied, there was a sound, and behold, a rattling, and the bones came together, bone to its bone. And I looked, and behold, there were sinews on them, and flesh had come upon them, and skin had covered them. But there was no breath in them. Then he said to me, “Prophesy to the breath; prophesy, son of man, and say to the breath, Thus says the Lord God: Come from the four winds, O breath, and breathe on these slain, that they may live.” 10 So I prophesied as he commanded me, and the breath came into them, and they lived and stood on their feet, an exceedingly great army.

11 Then he said to me, “Son of man, these bones are the whole house of Israel. Behold, they say, ‘Our bones are dried up, and our hope is lost; we are indeed cut off.’ 12 Therefore prophesy, and say to them, Thus says the Lord God: Behold, I will open your graves and raise you from your graves, O my people. And I will bring you into the land of Israel. 13 And you shall know that I am the Lord, when I open your graves, and raise you from your graves, O my people. 14 And I will put my Spirit within you, and you shall live, and I will place you in your own land. Then you shall know that I am the Lord; I have spoken, and I will do it, declares the Lord.”

Ezekiel 37 Summary: God made the dry dead bones living again.

I am writing this because God spoke to me in the grave yard that evening. He asked me, “What are you living for? What do you want to be remembered for? Do you feel the weight of Hell for those who do not know me?”

As the famous rapper NF says,

“When I die, put my ashes in the trash bag
I don’t care where they go
Don’t waste your money on my gravestone
I’m more concerned about my soul
Everybody’s gon’ die
Don’t everybody live though
Sometimes I look up to the sky
And wonder do You see us down here?”

  • Revelation 21

“Then I saw a new heaven and a new earth, for the first heaven and the first earth had passed away, and the sea was no more. And I saw the holy city, new Jerusalem, coming down out of heaven from God, prepared as a bride adorned for her husband. And I heard a loud voice from the throne saying, “Behold, the dwelling place of God is with man. He will dwell with them, and they will be his people, and God himself will be with them as their God. He will wipe away every tear from their eyes, and death shall be no more, neither shall there be mourning, nor crying, nor pain anymore, for the former things have passed away.”

And he who was seated on the throne said, “Behold, I am making all things new.” Also he said, “Write this down, for these words are trustworthy and true.” And he said to me, “It is done! I am the Alpha and the Omega, the beginning and the end. To the thirsty I will give from the spring of the water of life without payment. The one who conquers will have this heritage, and I will be his God and he will be my son. But as for the cowardly, the faithless, the detestable, as for murderers, the sexually immoral, sorcerers, idolaters, and all liars, their portion will be in the lake that burns with fire and sulfur, which is the second death.”

So, from looking at the beginning to the end I now ask myself, “what am I living for? Where is my hope when death comes, because it will come?”

“I’m more concerned about my soul
Everybody’s gon’ die
Don’t everybody live though” NF

Those words give me the feels every time I hear them. Are you concerned about your soul as a Christian or a non Christian? What does he mean by everybody’s going to die but not everybody is going to live? As a christian, am I concerned for my friends and families souls?

You will either experience two births and one death or one birth and two deaths. Everybody will have either a spiritual birth in Christ or a spiritual death and separation from God. I do not want to sound harsh, but this is the reality for all of us. It’s one or the other.

I want to be remembered for the way I care and talk to people. That I didn’t waste any time in telling those around me about Jesus, my only hope. That I had compassion for those near and far from me. That when I talk to a person who does not know Jesus, I feel the weight of Hell being a reality for them. That it is life or death right here in the moment. I want to display Jesus like I wear my make up. (Now, bare with me on this analogy. I wear my make up everyday. Everybody sees it and it’s the first thing people see and they notice when I am not wearing any. I put it on with care and intentionality because I want people to notice. Now, I know that may seem shallow so good thing I know my true identity in Christ.) But yes, I want to be remembered for how I wear Christ for all to see. I want it to be the first thing people notice about me when speaking or watching my actions. Not what I own, the job I had, the money I made, or the brands I wore because when I leave this world nobody will remember these things. But what they will remember is my love and passion towards people and making Jesus known. Allowing everybody I come in contact with the chance to hear the Good News of Jesus. That Jesus is the only way to the Father in Heaven.

So I challenge  you to put this into perspective of your own life. How much do you have to hate someone for you not to share with them the Good News that has given you hope and eternal life. Do you feel a sense of urgency when reading those verses or when you’re talking to those who are far from God? How often do you share with those closest to you how to expirence eternal life, because the reality is that they are perishing right before your eyes. At the end of the day, nothing else matters but where we are spending our eternity and how we lived our lives represented by that dashed line.

Grace & blessings,

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Leave a Reply

