Blast From the Past: Insecurity meets Jesus

So after I left campus last night, I got the munchies like any normal college student would. I was in need of a burrito and some queso stat. After waiting in the drive thru for what felt like a lifetime, I was almost home and ready to dig into my brown paper bag. After my late night munchies were conquered I noticed my roommate wasn’t in her room but her car was home. Weird. So I decided to take my brown bag out to the dumpster and check to see if all was okay with her. Little did I know that not everything would not be okay with me in that two-minute window.

Okay, pause small detail. We have new neighbors and all they do is throw ragers. I am pretty sure they are sophomores and excited to be out of the dorm. So long story short, from the beginning of this school year we have had nothing but problems with them.

Okay, play. So as I was walking to the dumpster I hear loud music. Somebody was having a fun Thursday night. Outside of their door were about 5 guys with some liquid courage in their hands. I’ve already had trouble with them cat calling at me and I have learned to ignore it. I’m not a dog. If you want to talk to me then talk to me like a human being. So of course they started their cat calling and I kept walking. And then I heard it. A blast from the past. “Nah man, we don’t WANT her, she’s CHUBBY.” What am I? A bunny? All it took was two words to come through my ears and pierce my heart. All it took was two seconds for me to question and doubt my identity in Christ.

In high school, I struggled with body image. Am I skinny enough? Will he want me if I lose weight? What I thought I had conquered though Christ came flooding back. My mind took me to a place where I never wanted to end up again. Starving myself. Over exercising. Abusing my body all for the approval of others. What girl doesn’t want to be called beautiful and wanted for who she is exactly? This world and our culture put this pressure on us that if we do not fit into the ‘Kardashian’ category than we aren’t wanted. (Nothing wrong with the Kardashian’s they are beautiful, but some are the Lauren Conrad’s in the world.) But guess what! YOU ARE WANTED! I AM WANTED!

Matthew 13:45-46 The Parable of the Pearl of Great Value

“Again, the kingdom of heaven is like a merchant in search of fine pearls, who, on finding one pearl of great value, went and sold all that he had and bought it.

Let me break this down Beyonce style.

YOU ARE WANTED. YOU ARE CHOSEN. YOU ARE LOVED.

We are a precious pearl that our Creator cherishes. He sold all that he had so He (God) could have us, His pearl. Meaning, heaven went bankrupt for you and I. God sent His one and only son to die on a cross so we can have a personal relationship with Him. Christ died for all sins. Not one sin is greater than the other. Christ took on my pain so I would never have to, so instead I rejoice and not suffer of my flesh. (Romans 6:6, “For we know that our old self was crucified with him so that the body ruled by sin might be done away with, that we should no longer be slaves to sin”) We are of such great value that God gave his ONLY son so he could have us now and forever. Every second of every minute of everyday.

1 Peter 3:3

“Do not let your adorning be external the braiding of hair and the putting on of gold jewelry, or the clothing you wear- but let your adorning be the hidden person of the heart with the imperishable beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which in God’s sight is very precious.” VERY PRECIOUS.

Don’t let your identity be of things in this world. Brand names, boys, approval, status. etc. These things will only come and go. They are temporary while we are meant for eternity. Jesus Christ is forever. Literally forever. He is our hope.

Romans 8:15

“For you did not receive the spirit of slavery to fall back into fear, BUT you have revived the spirit of adoption as sons (daughters), by whom we cry,”Abba! Father!”

I did not receive the spirit of slavery BUT of freedom in the living God. I did not receive the spirit of fear BUT of hope and joy. I do not have this fear of being wanted by the next boy that crosses my path because I am a daughter of the Highest King.  Being wanted by Him is better than a temporary boy and what and who he says I am.

Psalm 139 (Always a fav)

“For you formed my inward parts; you knit d me together in my mother’s womb. I praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made. Wonderful are your works; my soul knows it very well.”

Lord, wonderful are your works! Wonderful am I! He has already accepted me. He has given me the love I long for and nobody, not even I can take that away. Thank you for my imperfections because in those I see your perfections.

So ladies, next time a boy makes a comment or you don’t see your beauty remember you are wanted, chosen and loved by The Father who is bigger than this world.

Don’t sell cheap, because He knows your worth. You are a beautiful Tiffany’s pearl.

Check out:

  1. Beautiful Things by Shane & Shane
  2. How He Loves (Live) by Jesus Culture
  3. I Belong to You by Amanda Cook (Bethel)

Grace & Blessings,

IMG_9884

Leave a Reply

